Skip to main content

Journals Leigh B. Bienen and Lowden-Wigmore Awards for best student articles

May 26, 2022


Congratulations to the following graduating journal members for their outstanding notes and comments selected as the top student pieces written for each Northwestern Pritzker Law journal this year!   The winners were recognized at convocation, but we also wanted to provide the titles and links to their works:

Leigh B. Bienen Prize to the student who has written the best note or comment that has been selected for publication in the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology.

Lowden-Wigmore Prize to the students who produced the best-written contribution to each Northwestern Pritzker Law journal. 

Leigh B. Bienen Prize
This prize was established in 2011 through the generosity of Henry and Leigh Bienen. It provides an annual award of $5,000 to the law student who writes the best note or comment that has been approved for publication in the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology. The prize is awarded for excellence in writing and research, and for the intelligence and originality of the writer's approach to the topic selected for the written piece.

Lowden-Wigmore Prizes

The Lowden-Wigmore Fund was established by the late Frank O. Lowden, Class of 1887, in honor of his relationship with Dean John Henry Wigmore, and supports the awarding of Lowden-Wigmore prizes. The Lowden-Wigmore Prizes, awarded annually to members of the student body for their ability to marshal authority, present arguments effectively in written form, and speak lucidly and convincingly in public, go to students for the best written contributions to each of the Northwestern Pritzker School of Law's legal journalsin addition to final round Moot Court participants. The Lowden-Wigmore prizes include an award of $750.